Yesterday, when I finished reading a book, I threw it across the room.

It pissed me off. It made me cry. It made me feel hopeless for the children of the world.

It was “The Nanny Diaries”. The fucking Nanny Diaries. A book I picked up for fluff reading for a buck at the local bookstore.

Ruined my evening. So, to try to combat that horrible feeling I was left with after finishing that book, I turn on the tv.

“Deep Impact” is on. You know, the one where the meteor crashes into the Earth, with the asteroid soon to follow to destroy the planet? I turned it on just in time to see the parents, locked in a traffic jam 6 miles from Virginia Beach, where the meteor was to hit, hand off their infant to their teenage daughter and her boyfriend. They are on a motor bike and can  head to higher ground. Watching those parents send away their children…then, when the tidal wave starts to come in, they just look at each other, holding each other. Gah! Tea Leoni waiting on the beach with Omar Sharif. Her last words as they clutch each other: “Daddy”.  The space crew, heading to blow up the asteroid. Saying their goodbyes to family back on earth. The husband and his toddler daughter saying goodbye to his wife, her mother, who will die on the space shuttle.

I couldn’t take it. I ran into the bedroom, stuffed my face in a pillow and just sobbed for 10 minutes.  I didn’t want to try to explain to Michael what was wrong. I just get so damn sentimental and upset at things like this since having Gracie. The thoughts…they come, unbidden, and I can’t hold them back.

Then, later, fucking “Armageddon”. And “Independence Day”. WHAT THE HELL WAS GOING ON YESTERDAY WITH THE APOCOLYPTIC SHIT ON TV???

Ruined a perfectly good Sunday.

And that’s my rant for the day.

