My stepsister and her family survived the tornado that hit in Mississippi on Wednesday night. They lost everything they owned.

I saw pictures. There is no logical reason why they survived that tornado. Horrific.

So, Amber and I…we’ve spoken maybe 3-4 times over the past 10 years. She actually slept with a boyfriend of mine (when I wouldn’t) back in high school. So, we aren’t the best of friends or anything.

I get some clothes together, get some friends to donate some things for her and her family. My husband is asking me “Why? You don’t like her, you don’t like your parents, why bother?” He thinks I’m a sucker.

1. I feel bad for her. She’s lost her home, her sense of security. She clutched her infant to her while they were buffeted about the house that was falling down around her. No one deserves such things.

2. Karma. I don’t particularly believe in it, but hey, it can’t hurt.

3. Atheists can have compassion; be moral and good people.

4. I’m a softie. I’ll talk shit about you, say I hate you, but in crisis, I’m there for you.

5. I don’t want my stepmother to tell people I stood by and offered nothing. She would do that.

Call me hypocritical…eh.

