I’m a blog addict. I have 200 blogs on my Google reader, yet I read maybe 10 of them. I just keep adding them, and adding them…

I’m on a frugality kick. If we plan on moving next year, possibly buying a house, I need to find more ways to save, to cut back, to live a more frugal lifestyle. I’m always perusing frugality sites/blogs for more insight, more tips, more hacks.

I cannot remember the last time I came across a frugality/simple living blog that wasn’t run by a blatant Christian. What I mean by blatant is: scripture all over the page, posts of “living for God”, “frugality is Godly” blah blah blah.

I just want tips, man. I don’t want to hear about your god.

I came across one today, which I won’t name because I’m not interested in bashing these people. They have some genuinely good ideas, and I will continue to read them.

I perused their homeschooling curriculum. They use textbooks from http://www.apologia.com/.  Science textbooks. CREATION SCIENCE TEXTBOOKS!!!!! I threw up in my mouth a little.

From the site: “Apologia Ministries exists to give the home-schooled student a scientific education that will help him or her make a reasoned defense of the Christian Faith.”

My head explodes.

The science question of the week?

The show Veggie Tales has always bothered me. It’s not that I don’t enjoy watching it. The episodes are fun and generally have a good message. The problem is that they really should be called “Fruity Tales,” because most of the characters are actually fruits.

Question:
Of the the following characters:

Bob the Tomato, Larry the Cucumber, Junior Asparagus, Madame Blueberry, Petunia Rhubarb, and Pa Grape

which are actually vegetables?

This “disclaimer” at the bottom really blew my mind.

Once again, the Science Question of the Week is for students of age 13 – 18 years.

Really???? Really????? You are telling me that HIGH SCHOOLERS are being asked what fucking character on a cartoon belongs to what category, fruit or vegetable??????

I’m so glad my family (meaning me, my husband and hopefully the girl-child) does not subscribe to this type of thinking. Creation science is a, what’s the word for it…when the two words are exact opposite of each other???

Oxymoron. That’s it. Should have known with the word “moron” in it.

Yes, so I got off on a tangent. It’s what I do.

Do you have any secular frugal blogs you subscribe to? Leave a comment. 🙂

Thanks for listening.

